Wales Sevens win World Cup opener against Uruguay

Wales started their defence of the Rugby Sevens World Cup with a win over Uruguay in their opening pool match.

Chris Knight crossed for two tries as Paul John's side won 33-5 at Moscow's Luzhniki Stadium.

Adam Warren, James Davies and Alex Webster also scored tries for Wales, who next face Tonga in Pool E.

England , who won the tournament in 1993, beat Portugal 21-7, while Scotland narrowly overcame Japan 19-17 to round off day one.

Home Nations' Pools

Pool B - 29 June (All times BST)

  • 09:40 - South Africa v Japan
  • 10:02 - Scotland v Russia
  • 16:16 - South Africa v Scotland
  • 16:38 - Russia v Japan

Pool E - 29 June

  • 07:28 - Fiji v Uruguay
  • 07:50 - Wales v Tonga
  • 11:08 - Tonga v Uruguay
  • 13:42 - Fiji v Wales

Pool F - 29 June

  • 09:12 - Argentina v Portugal
  • 09:34 - England v Hong Kong
  • 11:30 - Portugal v Hong Kong
  • 14:48 - England v Argentina

John Brake gave England the lead in the first-half, but they struggled to tame their opponents who levelled through Miguel Lucas' try before half-time.

A further try from Brake and one for Tom Mitchell eventually secured the match.

There was no such sluggish start from Scotland, who raced into a 19-0 lead over Japan with tries from Chris Dean, Andrew Turnbull and Michael Fedo.

Japan fought back late on, but two missed conversions cost them the game.

Elsewhere, 2001 champions New Zealand got their bid off to a solid start with a 31-12 win against Canada, while Australia whitewashed Spain 21-0 and France eased past Tunisia 24-7.

Wales, who were crowned World Sevens champions in Dubai four years ago, will play their final pool match against Fiji, who secured the biggest win of the day by thrashing Tonga 45-0.

England entertain Hong Kong next in Pool F after their 47-7 loss to Argentina, while Scotland face a Russia side in Pool B that succumbed 31-0 to South Africa.

All pool games will be completed on Saturday before the play-offs on Sunday.